In My Mailbox #5

Posted: November 26, 2011 in Meme's
Tags:

 

In my mailbox is hosted by the lovely Story Siren.  This is our chance to show off the books that we got during the week.  I LOVE this meme…My wishlist ALWAYS grows!  Leave me a link to your IMM and I’ll be sure to drop by and say hi!

Won:

Sweet Venom (Medusa Girls #1)

Grace just moved to San Francisco and is excited to start over at a new school. The change is full of fresh possibilities, but it’s also a tiny bit scary. It gets scarier when a minotaur walks in the door. And even more shocking when a girl who looks just like her shows up to fight the monster.

Gretchen is tired of monsters pulling her out into the wee hours, especially on a school night, but what can she do? Sending the minotaur back to his bleak home is just another notch on her combat belt. She never expected to run into this girl who could be her double, though.

Greer has her life pretty well put together, thank you very much. But that all tilts sideways when two girls who look eerily like her appear on her doorstep and claim they’re triplets, supernatural descendants of some hideous creature from Greek myth, destined to spend their lives hunting monsters.

These three teenage descendants of Medusa, the once-beautiful gorgon maligned by myth, must reunite and embrace their fates in this unique paranormal world where monsters lurk in plain sight.

Switched

When Wendy Everly was six-years-old, her mother was convinced she was a monster and tried to kill her. It isn’t until eleven years later that Wendy discovers her mother might have been right. With the help of Finn Holmes, Wendy finds herself in a world she never knew existed – a world both beautiful and frightening, and Wendy’s not sure she wants to be a part of it.
 
Bought:
 
Immortal Rider (Lords of Deliverance, #2)
The signs are everywhere…disastrous world events. Evil rising up, unleashed upon the innocent. The prophecies were there…but no one listened. Until now. The time has come for those who can either usher in Doomsday…or prevent it. They are here. They ride. The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse.

Arik Wagner, a soldier with the U.S. Army’s paranormal unit, the R-XR, kissed a girl and liked it. And then he went to hell as punishment. Where he’s spent weeks being tortured…and plotting revenge.

Limos, Horsewoman of the Apocalypse, isn’t your average girl. She’s immortal, dangerous, and her fiancé is Satan himself. In a moment of weakness, she gave in to her desire and kissed Arik, triggering her fiancé’s wrath – and his claim on her. In order to save Arik, and the world, Limos must make a dangerous pact with her recently turned evil brother, Pestilence. A deal that might just cost her her soul…and her heart.

For Review:

 
Destined (House of Night Series #9)
Zoey is finally home where she belongs, safe with her Guardian Warrior, Stark, by her side, and preparing to face off against Neferet — which would be a whole lot easier if the High Council saw the ex-High Priestess for what she really is. Kalona has released his hold on Rephaim, and, through Nyx’s gift of a human form, Rephaim and Stevie Rae are finally able to be together — if he can truly walk the path of the Goddess and stay free of his father’s shadow.

But there are new forces at work at the House of Night. An influx of humans, including Lenobia’s handsome horse whisperer, threatens their precarious stability. And then there’s the mysterious Aurox, a jaw-droppingly gorgeous teen boy who is actually more — or possibly less — than human. Only Neferet knows he was created to be her greatest weapon. But Zoey can sense the part of his soul that remains human, the compassion that wars with his Dark calling. And there’s something strangely familiar about him . . .

Will Neferet’s true nature be revealed before she succeeds at extinguishing Light? And will Zoey be able to touch Aurox’s humanity in time to protect them all? Find out what’s destined in the next thrilling chapter of the House of Night series.

Comments
  1. lovingrob says:

    Great IMM 😀 Lots of great books, I think 🙂 Enjoy reading them 😀
    Love, Carina (PS: posting my IMM later tonight) 🙂
    http://www.carinabooks.blogspot.com

  2. Immortal Rider and Destined look awesome.
    I just received Switched through Library Thing Early Reviewers. The cover looks interesting.
    Love all your books. Happy reading and reviewing!

  3. ssweet!
    I’ve been wanting to read Sweet Venom! Sadly the local bookstore here doesn’t have it yet! But I’m sure getting Immortal Rider when i go there next time!
    Here’s my on IMM!
    http://bookquotesandlyrics.blogspot.com/2011/11/in-my-mailbox-2.html

  4. Awesome IMM! I plan to buy a copy of Switched as soon as it hits store shelves. The cover is absolutely gorgeous. Sweet Venom was really good. I hope you enjoy it.

  5. Okay, I can honestly say I’m super curious about all of these, but especially Sweet Venom! Have heard really great things about that one! Hope you enjoy. 🙂

    My IMM!

  6. I love the new Amanda Hocking covers, they look awesome. Hope you enjoy all of these.

  7. Mesa says:

    Switched looks great! I’m looking forward to reading it! Enjoy your books!

  8. Claire says:

    I’m so jealous of Sweet Venom – that looks like an awesome read! Destined looks good too.

    My IMM is here if you’d like a look 🙂

  9. Erica says:

    I loved Sweet Venom – truely awesome! And that’s awesome about showing, funny I show my Hollands as well 🙂

  10. Jenny says:

    I really need to read Sweet Venom and Switched! Looks like you got some great stuff, and I’m looking forward to checking out your reviews. Enjoy your books!

  11. Michele says:

    Ooh Love the cover of Switched!

    I read the first 5 or so of the House of Night books… lost interest in them for a bit…

    Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    Michele | IMM

  12. So jealous of everyone who got Switched! I so can’t wait to read that one!

    Giselle
    Xpresso Reads

  13. Lu says:

    Great Mailbox this week!

    New Follower 🙂

    If you have a moment, please come and vote on your favorite YA Novel’s Character:
    Here
    My Mailbox

  14. Another person got Switched as well 🙂 I want to get Sweet Venom.

    Happy reading and thanks for stopping by my blog.

  15. I want to get into Hocking’s novels, her story as an author is pretty amazing.

  16. Em says:

    I’m so jealous you got Switched. It sounds sooo good. Hope you like it!
    Em
    My IMM
    A Beautiful Madness

  17. Mercedes says:

    You got Immortal Rider~! Ah! I can’t wait to read that one. I keep seeing it everywhere!
    I have yet to read Awakened or Destined, I’m kinda afraid to go on, but I’m a compulsive series buyer. ):
    :3

  18. I LOVED SWITCHED! Awesome trilogy! I stayed up all night three nights in a row reading all three of them. Amanda Hocking is really great.

    Check out my IMM! I just started my blog so it is my very first one!
    http://somelikeitparanormall.blogspot.com/2011/11/weekly-meme-hosted-by-story-siren-this.html

  19. Ang says:

    Great week! I’ve added Switched to my TBR list! Thanks for stopping by my blog! Have a great day!

Talk to me Goose.....

