An Open Letter on “How to get ME to read your book”

Posted: November 27, 2011 in Discussion Post
Tags:

I was inspired to write this post by the post that The Story Siren did on the same subject.

Dear Authors, publishers, and other media outlets,

As a reader I LOVE it when I am approached by not only all of you but also my friends, family, coworker’s you get the picture with all sorts of book recommendations, suggestions and my personal favorite “OH MY GOSH YOU HAVE TO READ THIS IT’S JUST AWESOME” requests.  I just love to read. I realize, especially if you’re a brand new author, that it can be difficult sometimes to find people to read and review your book.  So I took the opportunity to write you all this open letter on “How to get ME to read your book,” now I’m going to break it down for you.

Honestly, the number 1 way to get me to read your book is if I want to read your book.  Seriously, that is the number 1 way.  I took the liberty of creating a Wish List page on my blog and I also have a Wish list shelf on my Goodreads account.  Please check them out.  Your work is basically done if you find your book(s) on either of my wish lists.

If by chance you don’t see your book on either of my wish lists or your just not sure if your book qualifies for my blog, please don’t hesitate to send me a review request.  Listed below are some things that you can do to increase your chances of me accepting your review request:

  • Read my Review Policy – I spent a whole bunch of time typing that thing up and I realize that it’s got some length to it but I have tried to highlight as much of the IMPORTANT stuff as much as possible. My review policy specifically states what genre’s and formats I read and review on my blog.  I also state how to go about requesting and what information I require in the request in my review policy as well.  Also, I’ll know if you’ve read my review request or not if your sending me a review request during a blackout period (not accepting review requests).
  • Don’t try to pitch me your book via Twitter/Goodreads/or a blog comment – This is a MAJOR turn off for me.  It feels like I’m trying to be bribed and I don’t like to be bribed, even when it comes to books.
  • Don’t try to bribe me – It’s rude, insulting and an instant review request rejection.
  • Use my real name in your review request – For this one I will definitely know for sure if you’ve read my review policy or not, it’s actually required.  I blog as “The Keeper” but I do in fact have a real name.  For me personally, it says that you took the time to personally explore my blog to learn what my real name actually is.
  • Add some personal touches – I’m a pretty smart chick.  I’ll be able to tell the difference between a personalized review request or a mass email review request.  I do realize that there are time constraints so I’m not saying I’ll reject a mass email request.  It’s just nice when you take the time to add a little personal touch to your request.

In closing, I hope that you found this open letter to be a helpful tool.  There’s a VERY good chance that I will want to read your book.  Just remember, book bloggers are people too.  With real lives and feelings.

Thank you,

The Keeper

Comments
  1. Hannah says:

    *bows* Pretty much ALL OF THIS.

  2. bookworm says:

    Great post and very well said.

Talk to me Goose.....

