Guest Review ~ Variant by Robison Wells

Posted: November 27, 2011 in Review
Tags: , ,

I’d like to take the time to thank Jamie from The Eclectic Bookshelf for dropping by and posting a guest review of Variant by Robison Wells here on Tales from the Crypt.

Variant (Variant, #1)Title:  Variant
Author: Robison Wells
Series: Variant #1
Release Date: October 4, 2011
Reviewed Format: ARC

Rating: 5/5

Synopsis:

Benson Fisher thought that a scholarship to Maxfield Academy would be the ticket out of his dead-end life.

He was wrong.

Now he’s trapped in a school that’s surrounded by a razor-wire fence. A school where video cameras monitor his every move. Where there are no adults. Where the kids have split into groups in order to survive.

Where breaking the rules equals death.

But when Benson stumbles upon the school’s real secret, he realizes that playing by the rules could spell a fate worse than death, and that escape—his only real hope for survival—may be impossible.

Review:

First, I’d like to thank The Keeper for letting me guest post this review on her blog today.  Now onto the awesomeness that is Variant!  I literally could NOT come up with one good reason to not give this book a 5/5.  At the moment I cannot come up with one bad thing to say about the book.

One thing that I really liked about Variant is that it’s pretty dang original.  To me Variant was a refreshing breath of air in a sometimes stuffy genre and very unique.  The thing that really attracted me to the book in the first place was the “Trust No One” at the top of the cover.  It adds a little creep factor to the book.

Variant had me hooked right away from the very beginning.  Another one of those books that I had a VERY difficult time putting down. (Side Note: DANG YOU REAL LIFE!)  I thought that the writing was original, with a touch of thrill added in to keep things interesting, which made this book soooo very easy for me to read.  Ok, so I fibbed a little bit, the only negative I have with the book is the cliffhanger ending.  Can I have the sequel right now please?!

Another thing that I LOVED about Variant was all the twists and turns.  Just when you think you or Benson have something figured out BAM! your wrong and there’s another twist.  Basically, I had to keep reading because the anticipation was figuratively killing me!

If you’re looking for a YA book that’s not only different but has a pretty unpredictable plot pick up Variant.  Really don’t think you’ll be sorry!

Comments
  1. bookworm says:

    Variant sounds like a thrilling read 🙂

  2. alyanna says:

    you’ll love this book…as much as i loved this BOOK!!!

Talk to me Goose.....